happy birthday georgie-boy!!

no,no,no.                                             


not this george.

                              

                        this george
                    

this past Saturday, May 12th, george carlin turned 70.  sure hope he had a great birthday celebration.  with/without booze, and/or/nor other mind-altering substances.   to me, george himself is a mind-altering substance

 

to mark the occassion, jimzarro at blogzarro put together a list of the 101 greatest george carlin's lines.  hard work there:  I don't think I could have whittled it down to only 101.   here are some of my favorites from the list:

I don’t have pet peeves — I have major psychotic fucking hatreds!
I used to be Irish Catholic. Now I’m an American — you know, you grow.
If it requires a uniform, it’s a worthless endeavor.
“When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops?” This title offends all three major religions, and even vegetarians!
The reason they call it the American Dream is because you have to be asleep to believe it.


george sez,  "Fuck off"

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “happy birthday georgie-boy!!

  1. I discovered my dad's George Carlin and Cheech and Chong records when I
    was around 10 years old. I wasn't as impressed with Cheech and Chong
    (although I thought "Dave's not here, man" was pretty funny) as I was
    with George Carlin, Class Clown. I memorized the Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television and his version of America the Beautiful and took them back to my grade school classroom. They were both a big hit!

  2. lol! you had me fooled – for a second i thought you were going to celebrate our esteemed president's birthday. heh.i'm not familiar with George Carlin, but my favorite quote so far is The reason they call it the American Dream is because you have to be asleep to believe it. lol. so true.

  3. I heart George Carlin!! Hpapy Birfday, George!Lil' Miao you should rent one of his comedy tour DVD's sometime. He has one the sharpest political minds on the planet. And the irony there is that he despises politics.

  4. My favorite comedian. Thanks, M.And my favorite passage (from the Back in Town Tour): "The longer you listen to this abortion debate, the more you hear the
    phrase 'sanctity of life,' 'sanctity of life.' You believe in it?
    Personally, I think it's a bunch of shit. I mean, life is sacred? Who
    said so? God? Hey, if you read history, you realize that God is one of
    the leading causes of death."

Comments are closed.