the who’s quadrophenia

24 thoughts on “the who’s quadrophenia

  1. Yeah yeah, Sting as the Bellboy. Brilliant. But the last 20 minutes of the album (Doctor Jimmy/The Rock/Love Reign O'er Me) are absolute brilliance. And I was disappointed that's not how the movie ended. Although twas a tear-jerking ending nonetheless. He never got to take the boat out to the rock.

  2. He rode his bike off the White Cliffs of Dover and didn't even make it to water! Jimmy wanted to get back to "cool, cool rain" and came up short.

  3. I can't wait to watch these later. I love my record but I never saw the movie. After watching Tommy a handful of times I swore off movie versions of the work of the Who. Although I do love watching Ann Margaret descend into madness, that's always fun.I wish that I could have seen the Who live back in the 70's. I get such a kick seeing Keith Moon play, it would have been a great experience.

  4. cap'n, that's one way of looking at it. I see it as Jimmy giving up on the Mods and going to what's next.val, hope you enjoy the clips. they are from the 1996 Quadrophenia performance at Hyde Park. sure wish I'd been there.Quadrophenia the album and Quadrophenia the movie are really two different beasts: the album takes place inside Jimmy, the movie outside.

  5. I was lucky enough to get box seats for their Quadrophenia tour in 1996, at the time, newly built arena here.
    Oh, and I can't forget, mmmmmmmmm…….Ann Margaret rolling around in baked beans. "Darling, I said what's for tea?"

  6. cap'n sez,I was lucky enough to get box seats for their Quadrophenia tour in 1996, me is,awestruck. speechless. dead with envy.damn, cap'n, no wonder you look down on the movie… after experiencing the Quadrophenia tour… and how old were you then? 11, 12?

  7. I have a serious sentimental attachment to Tommy. it was the very first album I bought with my very own money (age 11). bought it based on the cover alone; didn't know The Who, didn't know Tommy, knew about opera but not "rock opera". I listened to it obsessively for months.when I saw the movie a couple of years later, I enjoyed it, but nothing could compare to what I'd imagined. that said, I had quite a bit of a jolt years later when I realized jack nicholson played tommy's psychiatrist. who'd have thunk Jack could sing?

  8. Ummm…as I remember, Jack couldn't sing. I had tickets to see the national tour of the Broadway version of Tommy in high school. Before the show I knew nothing of The Who. When I returned from Chicago I went out and bought the cast recording of the show and the original Who album. I've been hooked on The Who ever since…as far as I'm concerned, they are one of the best bands of all time. I'm surprised I haven't completely worn out my deluxe edition of Live at Leeds – that's one of the coolest live shows I've heard. These guys were/are such great musicians.

  9. Hmm. 1996? I was 17.
    Only time I watched Tommy was around 3:00am, stoned out of my mind. I'll take Quadrophenia, the movie, over Tommy, the movie, any day of the week. I can't take "singing only" for 90 minutes. At least Quadrophenia had inter-spersed dialogue.
    And that's a great scene with Jack putting the moves, as only he can, on Ann Margaret. He's a better option than that butterball, Oliver Reed.

  10. Tommy, the film, is a lot to take in – stoned or not. I was a young
    and sober teenager the first time I watched it and was just confused as
    hell. Then again, it had concepts that my 16 year old self couldn't yet grasp either.Let me just take the opportunity to say that Tina Turner was the bomb as the Acid Queen!

  11. val, I thought Jack could sing. not a belter by any means, but a light baritone, kinda like antonio banderas in evita. and god, how could I forget the acid queen, my introduction to ms tina. another introduction: eric clapton as the preacher.cap'n, 17 in 1996, eh? I was double your age then. and I'm sorry to point out that "singing only" happens to be what an opera is; a rock opera, even. interspersed dialogue is the difference between an opera and a musical.the "Overture" to Tommy still leaves me breathless.

  12. Concepts? You couldn't comprehend "Your boy will be a boy no more" at 16? I'm flabber-ma-gasted.
    I understand opera is all singing, M. Doesn't mean I have to like it. :)

  13. I still get chills listening to the overture, from the first guitar chord – shoot, really to the end of the show. I always wanted to learn how to play guitar so I could strum the opening to pinball wizard and get as far as pulling out one of those classic Pete 360 notes.I thought Antonio did a bang-up job in Evita. He still managed to sing a tune, whereas I always thought Jack did more speak-singing in Tommy.I've got this great video on Tommy that I don't think made the leap to DVD, it's pretty cheap used – if you like the various versions of the opera, this is a pretty good documentary.

  14. my apologies, cap'n. didn't mean to imply you didn't know. I meant to say that one of the (many) things that impressed me about Tommy (the movie) is that it was staged as a traditional opera rather than as a musical.oh yeah, Tommy was quite the changed boy after meeting the Queen, If your child ain't all he should be now, This girl will put him right. I'll show him what he could be now,

  15. The concepts I couldn't grasp were mainly those related to the rebellion at the end of the show (We're Not Gonna Take It) and some of those things related to drug use (the movie was a lot more abstract than the broadway show). A lot of it was also the bits and pieces that just can't be covered in rhyming song…I find a combo of dialog and music makes musicals and operas a bit more palatable.

  16. Oh don't mind me. I was messing around with the "concepts" topic ;) When I was younger, I couldn't grasp the concept of Uncle Ernie's child molestation fetish. Now that I think about it, I still don't. Ewwwww.

  17. That does it, I'm going home and listening to Tommy…but which version to choose…or I could sing it from beginning to end all by my lonesome. Yeah, it's pathetic, but I do so love the show.We're on our own…cousin…all alone, cousin. Let's think of a game to play, now the grown ups have all gone away, you won't have much fun being blind, deaf and dumb, but I have no one to play with today.

  18. but I have no one to play with today.don't forget the finger tapping the piano key: but I have no one [note] to play with [note] today [today]…

  19. cap'n sez,I was lucky enough to get box seats for their Quadrophenia tour in 1996…and then sez no more. c'mon cap'n, do regale us with a review of the show!

  20. My husband had tickets to the Who on their '96 tour but sadly those tickets sat in an envelope at the front office of his college dorm and they weren't put in his mailbox until the morning after the show. Apparently they were notorious about not sorting out the mail for days at a time. He's still ticked off about that one.

  21. Oh sorry. Still at work. Tis a barn-burner of a work day. I think I'm on 10 hours now…
    Anyways…obviously no Moonie since he died before I was born. But Zac Starkey was a formidable replacement, at least better than Kenny Taylor. Our group sat up top in these box seats…something like only $60 at the time. So that was an easy "Hell yay."
    It was really too far away to see what was happening on stage. I know they brought out a guest performer to be Bell Boy (no, it wasn't Sting). Daltrey of course didn't have the chops he once did to scream "Where have I been? Out of my brain on a 5:15." But no matter. Like I said before, the last 20 minutes was pure bliss. Only minus was that Townsend didn't have all the synthesizers & what-not at his disposal to mimick the "heavenly orchestras" when Jimmy is all drugged up in the motor boat.
    But all in all, thumbs up.

  22. Townshend and Daltrey still have the energy of thirty years ago. Their most recent tour, while obviously lacking Entwistles' heroics on bass, was refreshingly true to their roots. I've seen many of the older bands recently, now touring solely to pay medical, legal and palimony bills, and to fund underfunded retirement plans, long ago squandered on drugs and lavish houses. That may be the case with the Who as well, but I'm willing to ignore that with the energy and theatrics they still put forth.

Comments are closed.