programming note – more details than what you can shake a stick at

I will be gone for the next two weeks or so.  I'm going to Venezuela, and unlikely to have more than sporadic web access.
I'm going to Venezuela for the first time in almost 20 years (yikes!).  is hard to believe, but soon after I moved to the US, my folks started coming to visit for holidays pretty regularly and there really wasn't a need. besides, the political and social situation in Venezuela has degenerated pretty steadily, and to be frank, I wouldn't recommend the place. my siblings and my mom eventually came to live in the US, and we are spread out between Washington D.C. and Tennessee.

my dad is the reason I'm going to Venezuela, unexpectedly, urgently, and unfortunately:  he was recently diagnosed and operated for fairly advanced colon cancer (stage III/IV).  he's started chemotherapy, but at this late stage, it doesn't look very good.  we are going (teh SO is coming with me) to spend time with him.  I'm still stunned.

we have shared so much here in cyberspace, that I wanted to give you, my imaginary friends, a bit more detail into what's going on.  thanks in advance for all your well wishes, and please, don't feel obliged to comment. I know there isn't much to say.  thanks y'all and we'll be back soon.

Read and post comments

21 thoughts on “programming note – more details than what you can shake a stick at

  1. Oh, I'm sorry. Have a safe trip and just be there for su Padre.
    We'll be here when you get back, don't worry your pretty little head about us. (That's what they say in your adopted home of Tennessee, right?)

  2. thanks dahlink. that's the plan. just be there and let the silence speak.and btw, I'm not in Tennessee (my brother is). I'm in Kentucky. I know, I know, same difference, right? ;)there are scorpions where I'm going (Barquisimeto, Vzla). if I see any, I'll squash them with your regards.

  3. I'm so sorry to hear that. Enjoy your time with your dad & your family even though it's not under the best of circumstances. I'll be thinking about you all and will send some good mojo your way. have a safe trip.

  4. Doh! I KNEW you were in Kentucky. I was so taken with the note about your dad and Tennessee was top o' mind. Sorry! You can just say I'm 'a bit touched' and that will cover all my failings.
    Thanks in advance for the crushing of scorpions in my name. Hopefully you won't have to subject yourself to meeting them in such a way.

  5. Hey missy…we are NOT your " imaginary friends " . . . don' you forget that! Warped and slightly bizarre, maybe, but NOT imaginary.I'm very sorry to hear about the sad news that is drawing you suddenly home, mariser. I hope that your visit spent with your family warms your heart. Enjoy being together.Have a safe trip — please take good care of yourselves — know that we're all thinking of you and wishing you good things. It'll be nice to hear from you when you're safely back here again.Hugs and love to you & your family, my friend.

  6. I've been there and I'm glad to hear that you can drop everything and go to your dad. And that you will have your SO. Your can be there for your dad, and your SO can be there for you. It's a tough time, and you will need it. Please take care of yourself as well as your dad, as much as you can.

  7. So sorry to hear this, mariser! Please have a safe trip and know that our very sincere thoughts, best wishes, and virtual hugs are following you. (Not stalking, just following). I consider myself very fortunate to have you as a friend.

  8. Ohmigosh!!! Take care… I'll be thinking about you guys! (I'm the one from TN, btw.) Please take care and we'll be here when you get back!

  9. Hope you have a safe trip, and manage to stir up good memories and make a few more. We'll be looking forward to hearing from you when you're back (and pet the kitties for me).

  10. mariser, i'm so sorry to hear about this…. I'll simply "ditto" what everyone else has said… and hang in there. This is a tough time (have been there and done that personally) – you really do need to take care of yourself…Hugs to you and your family.

  11. thanks everyone for your kind thoughts, wishes and comments. you are the bestest. these are sure to be bittersweet times for me, and I'll sure try to take the sweet with the bitter.

  12. Her N-ness sends a few nosebumps and kisses your way. (if you pet her just right, you get the latter…)

  13. So sorry to hear, Mariser. Sending lots of warm hugs and loving thoughts for you, your dad, SO and family. I'm glad you'll have each other when it's most needed.
    Take care and travel safely. We'll be here when you get back. You can count on that.

  14. I've been out of touch, mariser, and just catching up. I'm so
    sorry to hear about your dad. Sending blessings and love your
    way. Take care of yourself and family and keep us posted as
    you're able.
    xox
    jaypo

Comments are closed.