gah

comments by Jamie Foxx on Michael Vick caught my eye:

“It’s a cultural thing, I think,” (…) Most brothers didn’t know that, you know.

I used to see dogs fighting in the neighborhood all the time. (1)

I didn’t know that was Fed time. So, Mike probably just didn’t read

his handbook on what not to do as a black star.” (2)

 

even if these highly doubtful statements were true and Michael Vick grew up "in his neighborhood" thinking there was nothing wrong in sponsored dogfighting, he did grow up and move away, didn't he?  to a little place known as Virginia Tech where he spent a few years, no?  was he so sheltered that he never got his childhood notions challenged? that he expected the entire world to be like he knew at home? 

if so, wouldn't that be fucking sad?

 

(1) I used to see dogs fighting in my neighborhood too, Jamie. couple of distinctions: they'd get away from each other before much damage was done; they were not bred and trained to fight; it was not an spectacle

(2) nope Jamie.  the handbook Mike didn't read was the other one: the one on being a human being. his loss

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “gah

  1. Being from Kentucky where Cock fighting still is prevalent unfortunately, I can tell you there's alot of difference between a couple of roosters mixing it up to impress the hens and two cocks bred to kill with metal spurs. Same thing with the dogs. They fight all the time but there is no death match or money wagered.So I guess if I wanted to get into cock fighting I could say I didn't read the handbook on what not to do as a redneck engineer.BTW, if you are ever driving in the country and see lots of roosters in a yard with each tied or penned up to 50 gallon barrel cut in half, well they ain't got a easy future…..

  2. Exactly what Ken Zen said. It pisses me off when people use culture as an excuse. By making such excuses for Vick, Foxx is defaming the entire black community.

    The handbook Mike didn't read was the other one: the one on being a human being. His loss.
    Superbly put. And I hope he regrets his loss in the most agonizing way.

  3. was he so sheltered that he never got his childhood notions challenged? that he expected the entire world to be like he knew at home?
    I am guessing that as a standout football star, he never even had to go to class, so. . . nope. I grew up around chicken fighting and everyone that did it knew it was illegal. Saw one fight. Lost a lot of respect for chickens (they have to be the dumbest animals on the planet) and decided I never wanted to see two brainless creatures fight to the death again.
    Unless you are a Spartan, being bred for battle just ain't cool.

  4. I had not heard about this. I have been shocked at what some people are saying about this whole thing. I mean at what point did it become okay to imply people are culturally ignorant and racist because they are disgusted at animal fighting any animals not just dogs. Dog Fighting is not okay, there is no excuse for it, EVERYONE knows it is wrong, and Michael Vick can go host ToughMan contest with Lawrence Taylor.

Comments are closed.