of LOLCats and language

I've come to the conclusion I would have been a lousy school teacher.
o, the kids would loooooove me.
but the administration would hate me.

I believe in the "whole language" approach.  I believe kids should be encouraged to read and write simultaneously; that what is mos' important is understanding;  and I thoroughly despise "phonics", "phonetics", and any other approach that is more reliant on memorizing or "sounding out" words.

why do I bring this up?  because my nieces, 11 and 9 years old, are having an absolute blast with teh LOLCat builder aka "Cheezburger factory" over at ICHC.   teh nieces delight in wordplay and puns (not at Aubrey's level, but give them time);  and their favorite card game is Apples to Apples, which we play with made-up and absurd rules to gales of laughter.  I truly believe that having fun will keep them in love with language, reading, and writing throughout their lives and I can't think of anything better.

here's a few of their LOLCats.  if you ever see them at the vote page in ICHC , vote for them mmmmmk?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “of LOLCats and language

  1. Those are fantastic LOLcats, and I can definitely say that I ha ha ha'd out loud (very loud) on the first one!
    More power to them!

  2. What a fantastic aunt you are, mariser! And SUCH a good influence! Hooray for you and hooray for da talented nieces!And, weren't all the best teachers loved by the students and hated by the administration? ;)Apples to Apples is SO much fun!

  3. Awesome, hilarious pictures, but I have to speak up in defense of phonics.
    Spelling and reading came kind of naturally to me, but it still seems to me that it would be easier to learn to read if you are taught to sound out words syllable by syllable, rather than having to memorize 85 zillion individual whole words.
    By all means, encourage kids to read and write and be creative, but help them do it correctly at the same time.
    It annoys the piss out of me to see business executives, for crying out loud, who can't spell worth a damn. And it's stuff that actually IS spelled phonetically.
    I can understand when people struggle with some of the tricky words that trip everyone up, but when their writing looks like a 6-year-old did it for them, there's an educational disconnect somewhere.

  4. I loved the kitties too. Excellent captions I l aughed at them all especially the stuck kitty and the I can fix it later cat. I too am chiming in on the necessity to learn it all phonics some memory and lots of playing and also correct spelling. Memorizing is good for your brain just llike figuring out problems. Oh and you need that stuff when you go out in the working word. SO keep having fun with them. What a great Auntie you are.

  5. Oh, crud, AM, I meant to mention Phonics, too. One of my last "conferences" with my kids' teachers….very long ago, now, the keeds are all growed up, the English teacher admitted that the "inventive" spelling and the complete dropping of teaching words phonetically had been a huge mistake.DUH. I can't imagine teachers (who are human, after all) getting together and completely dropping any system of teaching, especially one as basic as phonics.I think the "inventive" spelling is awesome, too, (observe my lolcat talk almost constant) but it seemed to me and still does, that kids could have times to do "inventive freefor all writing and spelling" and then times to work on phonics and language and rules. I suppose there is no "time or money" for both systems. Damn money.

Comments are closed.