’twas 20…no, 10 years ago today…

…The Dude "His Dudeness, or uh, Duder, or El Duderino if you're not into the whole brevity thing" made bowling, little-known European political movements "Are these the Nazis, Walter?  No, Donny, these men are nihilists, there's nothing to be afraid of."  and home decorating "That rug really tied the room together" safe for hipsters on both coasts.

the clip show:

the stuff to memorize:

Walter Sobchak: I'm saying, I see what you're getting at, Dude, he kept the money. My point is, here we are, it's shabbas, the sabbath, which I'm allowed to break only if it's a matter of life or death…
The Dude: Will you come off it, Walter? You're not even fucking Jewish, man.
Walter Sobchak: What the fuck are you talkin' about?
The Dude: Man, you're fucking Polish Catholic…
Walter Sobchak: What the fuck are you talking about? I converted when I married Cynthia! Come on, Dude!
The Dude: Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah…
Walter Sobchak: And you know this!
The Dude: Yeah, and five fucking years ago you were divorced.
Walter Sobchak: So what are you saying? When you get divorced you turn in your library card? You get a new license? You stop being Jewish?
The Dude: It's all a part of your sick Cynthia thing, man. Taking care of her fucking dog. Going to her fucking synagogue. You're living in the fucking past.
Walter Sobchak: Three thousand years of beautiful tradition, from Moses to Sandy Koufax…
[shouting]
Walter Sobchak: You're goddamn right I'm living in the fucking past!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Dude: These are, uh…
Brandt: Oh, those are Mr Lebowski's children, so to speak.
The Dude: Different mothers, huh?
Brandt: No.
The Dude: Racially he's pretty cool?
Brandt: [laughs] They're not literally his children. They're the Little Lebowski Urban Achievers – inner city children of promise but without the necessary means for a – necessary means for a higher education. So Mr Lebowski is committed to sending all of them to college.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Jesus Quintana: What's this day of rest shit? What's this bullshit? I don't fuckin' care! It don't matter to Jesus. But you're not foolin' me, man. You might fool the fucks in the league office, but you don't fool Jesus. This bush league psyche-out stuff. Laughable, man – ha ha! I would have fucked you in the ass Saturday. I fuck you in the ass next Wednesday instead. Wooo! You got a date Wednesday, baby!


P.S.:  check out this Mutts series 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

17 thoughts on “’twas 20…no, 10 years ago today…

  1. One of the highlights of my life was seeing The Big Lebowski on the big screen in Amsterdam…complete with Dutch subtitles. It's hard to believe that was 10 years ago.
    I found an old Lebowski laserdisc at a bookstore last week. I don't have a laserdisc player, but the cover is going to look great framed. It's LP-sized.

  2. M—-l, that is certainly hard to beat. a once in a lifetime experience, I'm sure.so so cool on the BL laserdisc! val, check this out. no BL, but the only way to get Blood Simple

  3. I am SOOOO upset that I didn't find out about this weekend's Chicago Lebowski Fest in time. I'm going to be on the ball for next year. I'll have to sit on the couch in my robe and have some White Russians this weekend and watch the movie all by myself.

  4. aw michelle, that sucks. drinking a pitcher of White Russians is an acceptable plan B, though.did you know that LebowskiFest got started in Louisville? a bit over an hour east of me. we should start making plans to attend the Louisville fest.

  5. Sitting around all weekend drinking White Russians in a bathrobe sounds great. I'd do it myself except that I'm all out of vodka. I've got the kahlua, though.

  6. It is the hope and opportunity to the inspiration behind the jewelry Pandora Jewellery 2010 was designed. Optional choose also means that you can create a necklace, bracelet, or for you all, reflects the individuality and show you. Pandora Jewelry provides you a unique type of jewelry and surprisingly low prices. First of all, buying cheap Pandora Jewellery attach different Pandora Charms . Therefore, the Pandora Charm which expresses pandora sets the opportunity of “pandora boxes” and the name of bracelets now can be available to the jewelers.

Comments are closed.