as spring begins others come to an end

as some of you may know my dad was diagnosed with stage IV colon cancer last spring. he went through an arduous stint of chemotherapy and went in remission. we had hope for a few years reprieve, but sadly, it only lasted a few months:  the cancer returned over the fall, invading the liver alongside the colon.

we talked, we knew.  this morning my sister called, said dad had asked each of us to call to say goodbye. when I did, I could barely understand him… he's slipping away. the last thing I heard was "don't call me anymore".

it has been a long day. I've been sitting at the computer reading mail, listening to music, and for the first time all day, I began to cry when this song came on:

Sarah V's interpretation is giving me chills – I've been playing it over and over – especially the end.

goodnight dad. and may flights of angels sing thee to thy rest

Read and post comments

19 thoughts on “as spring begins others come to an end

  1. I'm so sorry (((((((((((((((Mariser)))))))))))))
    Sarah V has my favorite voice ever.
    My thoughts are with you and your family.

  2. Oh Mariser I am so Sorry. Hugs to you. I still miss my mom every day and it's been 2.5 years. If you need a shoulder you can email me and I will send you my cell number. Or you can just email me. hugs

  3. ((hugs))So glad that at least he could say goodbye, knowing he loved and was loved. I must have something in my eyes.

  4. It'd good that you got to hear his voice, and he yours. So many people are denied that.I hope for peace for him, for you and your family. It's hard that things must be this way.

  5. Mariser, I wish there was more I could say…you and your family will be in my thoughts…take care. (((hugs)))

  6. I'm so desparately sorry, M. It's good that you were able to hear his voice one last time, and it's also good that you've had your cry…crying heals, helps you focus, and helps you remember.
    I'm so sorry.

  7. So sorry to hear. I'm glad you got to talk to each other and say goodbye. You're in my thoughts. Take care.(((((HUGS)))))

  8. I'm so sorry to hear this: but his last words to you over the phone were his way of showing he thinks of you and doesn't want you to worry about him. Hope you find some comfort in that. Take care of yourself.

  9. thanks all for your kind and comforting words. they are deeply appreciated, as much as if you were right here.my dad's death has been expected, yes, and that takes some of the blow away. not enough of it.

  10. Mariser, I am so sorry to hear about the recurrence and about how fast it has all progressed. My thoughts are with you and your family. Much love to you.

  11. I am so so sorry mariser. That is such a wonderful picture of you and your dad. He knows you love him and he feels you near even when you can't be right there in person. (((((hugs))))

Comments are closed.