a whole lot of the drive-by truckers and a bit of the hold steady – rock’n’roll means well tour

an incomplete review. 

 

went to Louisville last night to catch the opening night of the Rock and Roll Means Well  tour featuring the Drive-by Truckers and The Hold Steady.  the bands are alternating opening/closing.  last night D-bT opened.

 

Drive-by Truckers is a band I'd been looking forward to for a while. they are the spiritual and musical heirs to Lynyrd Skynyrd; they have great ease on stage and are enjoying themselves. presumably the individual whiskey fifths help the nice vibe along. 

Drive-by Truckers set (roughly)

living Bubba
women without whiskey
sinkhole
love like this
the righteous path
Ghost to most                                                                                                                                                   

I'm sorry Houston
Goode's field road
company I keep
3 dimes down
Ronnie and Neil                                                                                                                                                   

marry me
hell no I ain't happy
zip city                                                                                                                                                            

home field advantage                                                                                                                                        

let there be rock
Alabama ass whuppin'                                                                                                                                    

look out mountain 

 

Louisville is about 1½-hour away and I'm at work today, so we didn't catch but the first hour of The Hold Steady's set. 'twas interesting, but almost a little funny after the intensity of D-bT.  when THS came on stage it felt like the A-V club nerds were taking over the stage after the *real* show was over. 

partial The Hold Steady set (roughly)

stay positive                                                                                                                                        

constructive summer
two-handed handshake
your little hoodrat friend
navy sheets
chips ahoy
the swish
you can make him like you
song for cutters
sequestered in Memphis

NOTE:  very rough setlists.  apparently standing and drinking beer is not conducive to the best handwriting.

ANOTHER NOTE:  the weird spacing between the songs in the setlists is entirely VOX's fault.  I got tired of trying to fix it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 thoughts on “a whole lot of the drive-by truckers and a bit of the hold steady – rock’n’roll means well tour

  1. Cappy and I are catching these guys in Philly next weekend. I have no idea which band is opening, but I don't care at this point.

  2. laurie, for the little it matters, in your show The Hold Steady is opening and Drive-by Truckers is closing.
    cranky, for what I read elsewhere, each band pretty evenly matched in settime, a bit over 1½-hours each.

  3. yanno, cranks, you really should tag along with laurie and cap'n. is on a Saturday, you can slepp on Sunday.

  4. Ah, from the little I've heard, they don't really do too much for me. I like The Hold Steady but from what I hear they aren't really worth seeing live. Plus I might go to a late show on Friday night if I can drag my azz down to the Tin Angel. (I like Amy Correia and am intrigued by Spottiswoode) of course if I can drag Laurie & Cap' to be my 2nd and 3rd wheels, THAT would be kewl.

  5. I'm only arriving Friday night and Cap'n's taking me out to dinner as soon as I land. After that, I don't see us getting to a show ifyaknowwhatimean.

  6. Ooo you're hearing some good music, mariser! (yeah, Vox spacing is screwed up. The only way I've seen to fix it is to write your post in a plain text editor then copy and paste.It's been 2 years now. When will we be able to dl all of our posts…?

  7. when THS came on stage it felt like the A-V club nerds were taking over the stage after the *real* show was over.Well put. This pairing of bands is kind of cool, but I can't imagine it working if the Hold Steady close the show. They cannot compete with the DbTs in terms of energy, volume, quality of songs, or hotness of bassists. The Hold Steady closing would inevitably be a let down.

  8. Yeah, I figured that probably wouldn't be possible, but I didn't know when you were getting in. And of course you guys can stop by!! I'll even make sure my house is presentable! (I was gonna work on that this weekend anyway since most of the hard labor is done)

  9. heh. thanks, zKen. I've been trying to get to more live shows this year.
    The only way I've seen to fix it is to write your post in a plain text editor then copy and paste.
    you know what's funny? the setlists are the ones where the spacing screwed up and they were the only sections of the post I wrote in Notepad beforehand. … I sweark, just we we think we got VOX figured out…
    and I can't wait for a way to download or save my posts. I'm getting to the point I may do it manually.

  10. It'll be great to see you again! And if you still have any furniture that needs to be moved, we can help you with that.

  11. They cannot compete with the DbTs in terms of energy, volume, quality of songs, or hotness of bassists*
    * Galen Polivka is kind of cute, but I can see your point. I do think that Shonda Tucker can beat him up, though.

  12. Since Vox ain't doin' it, I've decided that's my next big project (after finishing off my current one to let you download all your pictures/audio). I'll be sure to let you guys know when it's ready. Of course, if you want a backup in the meantime, check out BlogBackupOnline (my post on it is here).I'm envisioning a webpage – you enter your blog address, it goes through and downloads all your (public) posts to a file that you can import to another blogging system (e.g. WordPress). I say public-only posts because it won't have access to any others, so you may temporarily have to un-hide all restricted privacy posts, or just download them yourself.

  13. My 2 cents: You've already met Cranky and she lives in the same city as Cappy, so he can see her whenever. If you two don't feel like leaving the house, she'll understand. ;-)
    Hmm… there are a couple of different comment threads going on here, and neither is paying attention to the other. Kind of like a real-life cocktail party.
    (I really should stop drunk commenting. At least I'm not drunk blogging…)

  14. They play here at the Cannery all the time. Many of my friends know these guys. Not sure if they're from here but they sure play here allot.

Comments are closed.