et tu, Prince?

oh, AFKATAFKAP*.  how could you.

in a New Yorker interview, Prince muses on the difference between red and blue states:

"So here’s how it is: you’ve got the Republicans, and basically they want to live according to this.” He pointed to a Bible. “But there’s the problem of interpretation, and you’ve got some churches, some people, basically doing things and saying it comes from here, but it doesn’t. And then on the opposite end of the spectrum you’ve got blue, you’ve got the Democrats, and they’re, like, ‘You can do whatever you want.’ Gay marriage, whatever. But neither of them is right.”

When asked about his perspective on social issues—gay marriage, abortion—Prince tapped his Bible and said, “God came to earth and saw people sticking it wherever and doing it with whatever, and he just cleared it all out. He was, like, ‘Enough.’ ”

dude. through most of my life you've been the biggest advocate of …people sticking it wherever and doing it with whatever,….   

now it's wrong?  so not cool.  you are now officially a traitor to The Cause Of Getting It On.

 

traitor

traitor

* Artist Formerly Known As The Artist Formerly Known As Prince

 

Blogito ergo sum

Blogito ergo sum

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

25 thoughts on “et tu, Prince?

  1. indeed. I don't have any "getting it on" mixed tapes, if I did, they'd be full of Prince tracks. which would now have to be purged.

  2. Ignoring your principles to make money is a tried-and-true tactic. He's just being a typical hypocrite where religion is concerned.
    That's why I'm pretty loose with my religious beliefs. Keeps me out of trouble as far as hypocrisy goes. :-P

  3. oh my lord. funniest/saddest thread evar.
    Kensucky a few years ago finally got rid of the statute that indicated that any act that was not penis-in-vagina constituted sodomy. it was overturned after teh gays pointed out that any (male) legislator getting a blow job by a (female) could be prosecuted under the statute.
    got rid of it lighting fast.

  4. Plus, free secks without emoshunal baggage, right, Amy? ;o)As for Prince, I think it just makes me want to go home and listen to his music while having illegal sex with my husband, which in Kansas is just about anything that's not missionary position in the dark.

  5. Exactly!
    Loose religious beliefs allows for loose moral behavior. :-D
    A friend once asked me if I go to church every Sunday.
    "Every Sunday I wake up in my own bed!"
    It's more a joke than it is an actual truism. I haven't missed church for that reason in a really, really, really long time, dammit. (I have kicked someone out of bed so I could make it to church, though. "Your work here is done. Be gone with you.").

  6. You know, I have to wonder if he was on something when he was interviewed, based on the following quote. It literally doesn't make sense:

  7. Or, of course, that everyone id Jewish but him… but then, if Prince *is* in fact a JW, his bible is a lot different (lots of editorial "improvements") than what most people (both Jews and Christians) are reading… So his entire comment makes no sense at all.

  8. I didn't quite understand that quote either, e2c. I'm not familiar with the tenets of Jehova's Witness. maybe he was struggling to say that we all believe in God through our different pathways?

  9. you crack me up, ames.
    that'd be an, ahem, "interesting" thing to to share after the service: oh, so sorry I was late, my date wouldn't get out of bed…
    e2c, don't apologize. always like to hear you.

  10. Thanks! I shoulda posted the Wikilink, though… not sure if it's all accurate, but they get into some of the more obvious (and controversial) things about JW beliefs and practices.

  11. oh jaypo. ames's comment *almost* made me choke on the water I was drinking. since I didn't, I thought I was safe, came to your comment, and…
    …water all over the monitor.
    /goes for paper towels.

  12. As for this thread. Ugh. Celebrities are made to be photographed and to listen to their music, NOT to make philosophical statements about ANYthing. Get me the duck tape!!!

  13. bravo, jaypoo!I read this online somewhere yesterday and apparently he doesn't sing his really nas-tay songs in concert any more. So the Prince tribute bands are truer to his 80's self. Saw one of them on Letterman last night, they were good.

  14. I was soooo glad he left Minneapolis. He always was a little jerk, flicking off his critics, and now that he's gotten religion, he's a really big jerk.

Comments are closed.