(NOW WITH HINTS) – because I’m a follower: The movie quote game

originally from Ginger Sister, via too many to list

DA RULEZ

1. Pick 30 of your favorite movies.
2. Find a quote from each movie.
3. Post them on your blog for everyone to guess.

NO CHEATING.  Guess what you know, don't wikiquote/imdb them.

DA QUOTEZ

1. All the world will be your enemy, Prince of a Thousand enemies. And when they catch you, they will kill you. But first they must catch you; digger, listener, runner, Prince with the swift warning. Be cunning, and full of tricks, and your people will never be destroyed  WATERSHIP DOWN  -  Lurkertype

2. Can you believe it? We're in the middle of a drought, and the water commissioner drowns. Only in L.A. CHINATOWN Lurkertype

3. On this very night, ten years ago, along this very stretch of road in a dense fog just like this. I saw the worst accident I ever seen. There was this sound, like a garbage truck dropped off the Empire State Building… And when they pulled the driver's body from the twisted, burning wreck. It looked like this..  PEEWEE's BIG ADVENTURE –
LeendaDLL

4. I want to be alone. I think I have never been so tired in my life.  GRAND HOTELE2C

5. And that's how you play "Get the Guests". 
(1960's. literary. theatrical) 

6. Do you believe that stuff the old man was saying the other night at the Oso Negro about gold changin' a man's soul so's he ain't the same sort of man as he was before findin' it?  THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE – Crankypants

7. Bring me four fried chickens and a Coke.  THE BLUES BROTHERSHotrod

8. We got a winner, I said we got a winner, we got a winner! Our next winner is that delightful personality, straight from Brighton beach Brooklyn, Please give a juicy welcome to Mrs. Sarah Goldfarb(<10 years old. very disturbing/graphic scenes)

9. It's all a part of your sick Cynthia thing, man. Taking care of her fucking dog. Going to her fucking synagogue. You're living in the fucking past. THE BIG LEBOWSKIMichellemabelle

10. I'm a writer, you monsters! I create! I create for a living! I'm a creator! I am a creator!  BARTON FINKHotrod

11. Pino, fuck you, fuck your fuckin' pizza, and fuck Frank Sinatra. DO THE RIGHT THINGCrankypants

12. Y'all take it easy now. This isn't Dallas, it's Nashville! They can't do this to us here in Nashville! Let's show them what we're made of. Come on everybody, sing! Somebody, sing!  NASHVILLEE2C

13. Would you say that she was a moaner, Frank? Seriously Frank. I mean, does she go "ooooh" or does she lie there quiet and not do anything at all? M*A*S*H ancora impara

14. The reality is we're still 11 year old boys locked in a cellar imagining what our lives would have been if we'd escaped.  MYSTIC RIVERniggytardust

15. This is Sparta!   300LeendaDLL

16. There are two kinds of people in the world, my friend: Those with a rope around the neck, and the people who have the job of doing the cutting.  (1960's. created the genre)

17. I don't feel I have to wipe everybody out, Tom. Just my enemies.  THE GODFATHER PART II Brown Amazon

18. Thirty-two hundred dollars he gave me. Thirty-two hundred dollars for a lifetime. It wasn't even enough to pay for the coffin. GOODFELLAS Hotrod

19. I was sheriff of this county when I was twenty-five years old. Hard to believe. My grandfather was a lawman; father too. Me and him was sheriff's at the same time; him up in Plano and me out here. I think he's pretty proud of that. I know I was.  NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MENCrankypants

20. My country send me to United States to make movie-film. Please, come and see my film. If it not success, I will be execute.  BORATLeendaDLL

21. Mustn't go that way! Mustn't hurt the Precious!  LofR:  THE RETURN OF THE KINGTree Sweater

22. Thank God we live in this quiet, little pissant, redneck, podunk, jerkwater, greenhorn, one-horse, mudhole, peckerwood, right-wing, whistle-stop, hobnail, truck-driving, old-fashioned, hayseed, inbred, unkempt, out-of-date, white trash… SOUTH PARK: BIGGER, LONGER, AND UNCUT Scott

23. When your head says one thing and your whole life says another, your head always loses.    (1940s. film noir)

24. When a man's partner is killed, he's supposed to do something about it. It doesn't make any difference what you thought of him. He was your partner and you're supposed to do something about it. And it happens we're in the detective business. Well, when one of your organization gets killed, it's-it's bad business to let the killer get away with it, bad all around, bad for every detective everywhere  THE MALTESE FALCONLurkertype

25. You didn't get me down, Ray.     (# 25 and # 26 are of the same genre, made a few years apart)

26. What is keeping him up Bill, I dont know  (both #25 and #26 won Oscars but in different categories)

27. Gotham City. Always brings a smile to my face. BATMANLeendaDLL

28. I live my life a quarter mile at a time. Nothing else matters: not the mortgage, not the store, not my team and all their bullshit. For those ten seconds or less, I'm free.  THE FAST AND THE FURIOUSBold as love

29. HA HA HA! How crazy is that! Darwin thought we came from MONKEYS! THE PROPOSITIONCrankypants

30. Christmas! Christmas dinner, yeah. Dinner means death. Death means carnage! Christmas means carnage!!  BABEHotrod

my apologies in advance for the lame hints.  I know they are lame.  I have no experience/practice doing them

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

82 thoughts on “(NOW WITH HINTS) – because I’m a follower: The movie quote game

  1. THIRTY?! Jeebus. I hardly know any of these. But I will say that #22 is one of my favorites. (They totally should've won that Oscar.)

  2. I can't believe I have to do this a 2nd time because Vox crashed on me. Tell me how I did:#2 – LA Confidential or To Live & Die in LA or Chinatown. I know I've seen it – I just can't remember which movie/title#3 – Large Marge in PeeWee's Big Adventure#4 – Greta Garbo, but I don't know the movie#7 – Pulp Fiction#11 – I've seen it but have no idea#15 – 300#20 – Borat#21 – Lord of the Rings#27 – One of the Batman movies – the one with Jack Nicholson as the Joker

  3. #3, I agree w/Leeeenda…PW's BA
    #6–The Treasure of the Sierra Madre
    #11–Do the Right Thing (?)
    #19–No Country For Old Men
    #20—again, what LDLL said, Borat
    #21 ditto LDLL LOTR
    29 I KNOW THIS!! I just can't think! I just saw this not long ago.

  4. # 2 LA Confidential or To Live & Die in LA or Chinatown. yep. is one of the three.# 3. yep# 4. you get ½ point. it is Ms. Garbo, but the movie is….# 7. nope# 15, 20. yep# 21. ½point. which one of the three?# 27. yep. the one with JN as the joker. Batman

  5. I was going to guess #2 as LA Confidential but I know you like Chinatown, but someone already used a C-town quote so…LA Confidential. though it makes more sense for Chinatown so…Chinatown.

  6. # 6. yep# 11 yep! (I thought it may be too obscure. good job!)# 19 yep# 21 yep but which one of the three?# 29. FOR SHAME!!

  7. #21–the first one. I never saw any of them.
    Totally blank on 29. so many of these are familiar but it's all blobbing together in my mind.

  8. # 21 no. I didn't watch any of them until last year where I watched them in DVD all in a row. awesome experience.# 29 you have to get this one. you have TO

  9. Think think. Okay, I know 29 is John Hurt, in a movie with my movie boyfriend, Guy Pearce, but I don't remember the name of the movie.

  10. I never would have forgiven myself if someone had gotten it before me. That was my problem though, I couldn't figure out whose voice I needed to hear.
    everything, for some reason, comes to me in Brad Pitt's voice. Brad Pitt lives in my head.

  11. PS I didn't know Guy Pearce was your movie boyfriend too!!!
    Did I ever hear what you thought of The Proposition, anyway?

  12. #21 must be The Return of the King, because that happens relatively late in the story. If it's the moment I'm thinking of. ROTK I've only seen a couple times because it's the one I like the least.

  13. You too, eh? ;) I don't really like *any* of them, but that definitely was the worst of the three.

  14. Ooh, ooh, I get credit? That would be the title that completely cracked me up when I first spotted it in a theater, South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut.

  15. Yep. ROTK was the most disappointing, perhaps because it was at that point that you could no longer rationalize and say, well, maybe they'll fix that in the next one. It's a pity, really, because so many things about the films were perfect.

  16. #7 is The Blues Brothers, #9 is The Big Lebowski, and #10 is Barton Fink. Those, I am sure. And I'm almost as sure #30 is Babe. #21 is obviously one of the Lord of the Rings, but I couldn't say which. #18 is Goodfellas, right? (I don't remember the line about the coffin.) #13 is very close to a line from Ruthless People, so I'm gonna guess that. It shames me that I can't say for certain if #17 is from Miller's Crossing. I thought I had that one completely memorized.

  17. #21 – all of them?#7 was driving me NUTS so I cheated. But I see that hotrod already has it so I don't feel so bad.Glad #2 was settled, I was changing to Mulholland Falls.

  18. geez…I started doing my own, thinking I'd post it and come back much later to the guesses and I got thru #6. Of course a lot of 'my' movies have been used already. Maybe I can still bust through it if I try harder….stay tuned.
    Good job, Hotrod! I never would have gotten Goodfellas from that quote, though it sounded familiar.

  19. it is hard to do your own, especially after a lot of the good quotes have been used. I ended up using not-so-well-known-quotes from some fave movies. I wasn't going to leave TBL or Chinatown out.there are a couple up there I'm surprised havent' been guessed yet. "movie fatigue", p'haps.

  20. I'm officially out for the rest of this thread. I looked up the ones that haven't been identified yet. I should have got #13, and it annoys me I didn't. I'm less annoyed about #17. I've only seen that movie once.

  21. yeah—I'm still not a third through. I'll save it for later and maybe post it late tonight or tomorrow. I just have too much to do, including taking the revolting little chihuahua out for a nice long walk.
    I'm pretty terrible at guessing at these things. So many seem so familiar and I either space out completely or else it's not as familiar as I think.

  22. Is 28 Chariots of Fire? I am a complete hopeless loser at movies cuz I just don't see that many. Darn! I didn't even see Chariots of Fire. *snicker*

  23. Lol! I'm an idiot for even guessing….but all I could think of was a race movie…or a Quarter Horse movie…My Friend Flicka (not really).

  24. 13 & 23 are driving me crazy.
    Is 28 Seabiscuit? I was thinking along the same lines as Lauri, horses or cars.
    Is 23 Fight Club? oh wait, Brad Pitt-never mind. ;-)

  25. bad, bad Crank! at work, we named one of our lasers "Jake", after the blues' bros.what i'm really getting a kick out of is the fact that I haven't seen the majority of movies that I guessed. I think it's "hollywood adjacent" osmosis.

  26. haha, I've guessed that way but haven't been right. I know enough about movies I haven't seen, actors, plot, some quotes, but I'm not that good. I pretty much stink at this game!!!

  27. I'm not reading ahead to see if you posted the answers yet – I'm just going to answer the ones that haven't been crossed out that I know:14 – Mystic River (excellent movie, btw)28 – Fast and the Furious (funny, just watched this again the other day!)I so feel like I should know #13 and 26, but just can't put my finger on 'em…

  28. Originally I was thinking it was older then I realized there were a few boxing flicks recently I could probably remember the names of…
    so now I will guess 25 is Raging Bull.
    and 26 is The Champ? I had it the other way around first,that will be my next guess if I'm wrong. ;-)

Comments are closed.