antony & the johnsons

amazon features cheap and free mp3s all the time.  I've downloaded many.  some I listen to once and never again, some a couple of times, some make it into regular play, but only this one,

06 Another World
Antony & The Johnsons

got, besides multiple playbacks, purchases.  The Crying Light album from where the above track is from, and the title track,

05 The Crying Light
Antony & The Johnsons

but also their 2005 album, I am a bird now.   their music is hard to categorize, it is like something that


the emcee from Cabaret  would sing

or maybe a post-Queen Freddie Mercury would

you could call it "postmodern cabaret" or "cabaret noir"
07-Fistful Of Love
Antony And The Johnsons

03-For Today I Am A Boy
Antony And The Johnsons

10-Bird Gerhl
Antony And The Johnsons

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “antony & the johnsons

  1. I can't listen to this at work. I have to wait until I get home, when I can play it louder. And dress up.

  2. Something about his voice (oh and his appearance) creeps me out. I keep wanting to like it but all I can think of is he's the bastard mutant child of Boy George and Bronski Beat.
    I mean…I recognize his talent, it just doesn't agree with my ears.

  3. Antony is difficult. openly vulnerable and scarily intense.such theatrical ambiance and raw emotionality.

  4. Excellent information to
    many people like that read articles to learn about these issues of great
    interest. Land
    in
    Samara Costa
    Rica

Comments are closed.