Dia de los Muertos

today is All Dead Day, Sp. "Dia de los Muertos" a holiday more observed and celebrated in all the Spanish- (and Tagalog-speaking) world, but nowhere as much as in Mexico.  alongside visiting with your dead relatives in their place of final rest, it is customary to prepare special foods and bake "el pan de los muertos" (bread of the dead).
NOTE: I realize this is misleading.  I bought the bread at a local bakery; I didn't think so at the time, but now I see that it reads as if I had made it from scratch instead of bought.

so as we are ready to sit to breakfast this morning, we see dead people

and will momentarily eat dead people.

LK and Pepper say sleppy and yeemy "hellos"

updated@00:16 11/03/2009:  added NOTE in first paragraph

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

26 thoughts on “Dia de los Muertos

  1. P. Hank and S. Elizabeth were/are running around, I was too lazy to chase them with the camera. they get plenty of pictures, anyways.how was your Hallow'ee'n Wonderland, TS? I can't imagine trick'or'treaters having to wade through banks of snow for their treatz

  2. It was HOT yesterday, and the worst of the snow has melted away. (That's Colorado weather for you…)But in all the 18 years we've lived here, I think we had one trick-or-treater, once. It's a condo, and it's kinda hard to know who's open for business and who's not, since we don't have "porch lights."There aren't many kids in our neighborhood. Most of the young families are across Alameda in the new homes they've built on what used to be Lowry Air Force Base. They wouldn't want to cross to our slummy side of the street. :P

  3. Oh, you reminded me–there's a day of the dead thing happening at a local community center, with food and crafts…think I'll go check it out!

  4. oh, do if you can. depending on how big it is you may be able to find some very neat skull/skeleton figurines and/or jewelry, skull candy, other goodies.it's funny: here in Lexington we have a large Mexican community, yet "Day of the Dead" celebrations are fairly muted; family affairs. I think it might be because we are in the "bible belt" and there is already enough animosity against 'furriners' and DotD celebrations can be misunderstood/misinterpreted.

  5. Happy Day of the Dead to you! I don't know if this is a Dia de los Muertos thing, but I'm supposed to go pick up an order of tamales today. At a Buddhist church.

  6. there are a couple large Day of the Dead events around here but I'm probably too sick to make it to any of them (booo!). I have my calaca out and will put an offering soon.i was told that pan muerto, around here, is black. i don't know – this is the first time i've heard of it. i have a couple panderias near me so i might actually get to try that.

  7. I read the title as "Dia de los Mentos", which would be TRULY frightening.Bunch of places I could have gone today for it, but for me it is dia de los veggios. I've got something in the bread maker, tho.

  8. hey, if you make bread on el dia de los muertos, it is by definition pan de los muertos. so you are legit.dia de los veggios (heh!) for me too. until now, watching the game and cursing at the Stankees.

  9. It's done. It's my first try at raisin bread. The process does not allow for as much cinnamon or chopped nuts as I would like, but holy yummers, it's still tasty. I can top it with cinnamon butter.made a small loaf and think I should have made a big one… NOM.

  10. the moment I read your first sentence I thought that can be corrected with cinnamon butter.LK retains a fondness for a childhood treat of toast, spread with butter and sprinkled with a cinnamon-sugar mix. of course, raisin bread may be sufficiently sweet by itself.

  11. treat? I had that with brekkie many mornings, or sometimes as an after-school snack. still nothing finer. we had a separate bowl for the cinnamon sugar mix on hand at all times, in the cupboard right next to the sugar bowl.you gots to have a little sugar to bring out the cimmum flavr to the utmost.teh raisins and pecans in this bread are also teh yum. I haven't had white bread in so long it's quite the nom.

  12. Treat indeed. Cinnamon was very difficult to come by in Kentucky. We had to trade 2 gallons of moonshine for each 1/2 oz of ground cinnamon. Cinnamon bark usually involved a trade of a good hunting hound.

  13. I'd a needed an endless supply of hooch and dawgs for my levels of consumption, then ;) — like I said, I had this at least 5 times a week.

  14. Yay for tig!I have the neatest DotD ornament…it's a skeleton wearing a cowboy hat, playing a guitar…..and I didn't get him out this year….boooo! :(

Comments are closed.