thirty movies hath november – Richard Pryor live on the Sunset Strip (1982)

it is possible I'd seen stand-up before watching Richard Pryor Live on the Sunset Strip, but if so, Richard made me forget about it.  RPLotSS was one of the first shows that incorporated performance into stand-up

Richard covered a lot of ground in 80 minutes. a meditation on love, loss and the difference between men and women:

the profound influences of a trip he made to Africa.  the African jungle makes everything badass. even bunnies

some thoughts on African vs. African-Americans self-image and cultural constructs

about his near-death from an explosion while freebasing cocaine. merciless

NOTE:  I feel silly even mentioning this, but just in case.  This is RICHARD FUCKING PRYOR peoples.  offensive language is a given.  do not listen at work or at grandma's house.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “thirty movies hath november – Richard Pryor live on the Sunset Strip (1982)

  1. I saw this film when it first came out in a theater in Minneapolis, and I laughed so hard I lost my voice. The friend I went with that evening kept asking me if I was okay because I kept coughing and gasping for air afterwards. Richard Pryor was always brutally honest, even when he knew he'd piss people off. (He was booed when he said at a benefit dinner for AIDS research that gays would receive social equality before African Americans.) Watching the clips you posted here makes me realize how bland stand-up humor has become, even when the comedians are discussing hot-topic issues like race, gender and drug addiction.

  2. But Grandma so loved this funny black man… Awww. I'll tell her, but she'll be heartbroken… Love some racy Red Foxx too…

Comments are closed.