thirty movies hath november – Three Kings (1999)

Three Kings takes place in a far away place a long time ago: Iraq and 1991.  the (first) Gulf war has just ended officially but there is still much chaos on the ground.  as American soldiers disarm some surrendering Iraqi soldiers, the American soldiers find a document. 

a war movie that is a heist movie that is a comedy movie. 
a sharp critique of Bush I war, its victims, and those who became victims after the war.

great dialogue.  check

"Archie Gates: Sit down. What do you see here?
 Chief Elgin: Bunkers, sir.
 Archie Gates: What's in them?
 Troy Barlow: Stuff they stole from Kuwait.
 Archie Gates: Bullshit. I'm talking about millions in Kuwaiti bullion.
 Conrad Vig: You mean them little cubes you put in hot water to make soup?
 Archie Gates: No, not the little cubes you put in hot water to make soup.

trailer

we have all wondered how cows manage during wartime

what a gunshot does.  NOTE:  this kind of scene is commonplace now in CSI shows and others. but this was the first


a great, funny movie.  'tis sad to consider that at the time it was made, the Gulf war was a fast receding memory

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “thirty movies hath november – Three Kings (1999)

  1. Interesting thing about the film is that it was entirely shot in Ektachrome slide film. That is what gives the the movie its unique view.

  2. I should have written some sort of code that could post my same comment over and over here this month: I've wanted to see this film for a long time, but still haven't gotten around to it. :-) That's not entirely true, I feel a bit cultured since I'd seen some of your picks – like Bigger, Longer and Uncut. Haha.

  3. This is one of my favorite movies – the writing, the directing, the acting…David O. Russell's other movies, however, will never be on any of my "like" lists. As far as I'm considered, he should just ride out the glory of this one and leave it be.

  4. The only thing I really remember about this movie was how they were shoving all the gold bricks into duffel bags and carring them like they were bags of cash. not realistic!

  5. One of my fave movies. I heard a rumor there was going to be a sequel, but then I heard that the actors hated David O. Russell and would never work with him again, so I'll just have to watch and re-watch this one over again.

Comments are closed.