I stood 20 feet from Ralph Stanley as he alone on stage…

…sang O Death
if that doesn’t put me a bit closer to heaven, I don’t know what would. a transcendental experience.

some pics from the show: Ralph Stanley and His Clinch Mountain Boys @Oktoberfest, Christ the King Church

more pics at flickr

because music posts need music, here’s a totally unrelated song. funniest bluegrass song ever and shoutouts to Carter Stanley and to Bill Monroe.

The BlueGrass Widow by Robert Earl Keene Jr.

7 thoughts on “I stood 20 feet from Ralph Stanley as he alone on stage…

    • I got actual physical goosebumps. those are gone. the emotional ones are permanent. when that small frail old man begins to sing, it is like something coming from on high.

  1. Fekkin’ awesome! Funny, earlier today I found one of his discs sitting atop a bookcase, and thought “How long has this been sitting there, and why the hell haven’t I been listening to it?”

Comments are closed.