The Stars My Destination (UK title: Tiger! Tiger!) – NaBloPoMo 2010

“Who are you?”

“Gully Foyle is my name”

“Where are you from?”

“Terra is my nation”

“Where are you now?”

“Deep space is my dwelling place”

“Where are you bound?”

“Death’s my destination”

the stars my destination

The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester

thus we are introduced to Gulliver Foyle, “Mechanic’s Mate 3rd Class, thirty years old, big boned and rough…” in possession of one of the great names in fiction, at the time we meet him, Gulliver (Gully) Foyle is drifting in space in the wreckage of the Nomad.  it is the 24th century and the known worlds are on the grasp of jaunting, a manner of teleportation. but scientific advances are not the concern of Gully Foyle; he is obsessed with revenge against the luxury space liner that shied away from rescuing him.

Alfred Bester wrote The Stars My Destination (UK title: Tiger! Tiger!) in 1955;  it is very unlike the sci-fi of the period, in a way it predates cyberpunk:  it features body cybernetics, amoral megacorporations, the world as a dark and chaotic space.  Gully Foyle is like no hero or anti-hero before him: mean, cruel, obsessed with revenge.  and revenge will be his.

 

5 thoughts on “The Stars My Destination (UK title: Tiger! Tiger!) – NaBloPoMo 2010

  1. I never understood why Bester is not better known – after all, he wrote The Demolished Man, winner of the first Hugo award and the loose basis of the movie The Demolition Man.
    all I can figure is that Bester was, to use the old trope, “ahead of his time”. his novels are worth searching around old bookstores

  2. When I was in high school/college I was a bit of a sci-fi geek and I remember reading “The Stars My Destination”. It’s been so long ago that I’ve lost a lot of the details. I should probably seek it out and read it again. Really, I’m surprised that I haven’t read more of the books on your list so far. Maybe I wasn’t as big of a sci-fi geek as I thought.

Comments are closed.