The Sirens of Titan – NaBloPoMo 2010

The Sirens of Titan is Kurt Vonnegut‘s second novel, published in 1959.  in style it is Vonnegut through and through:  funny, sardonic, scattered.

 

The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut

 

 

I’m having a hard time writing about The Sirens of Titan – it is a intergalactic interplanetary saga:  maybe I should just say that The Sirens of Titan was a major influence on Douglas Adams‘s The Hitchhiker at the End of the Galaxy series.

if you’ve read and enjoyed Vonnegut, then you should read this; if you haven’t read Vonnegut then you should definitely read this and then read more Vonnegut.

7 thoughts on “The Sirens of Titan – NaBloPoMo 2010

  1. Not sure if I have this or not. Will have to check when we start going through book totes. Sounds very familiar. Although, I did like Bikini Planet as a work of fluff sci-fi better. LOL

  2. *ahem*
    The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. H2G2. That’s the name of the first book and the overall name — you’ve conflated it with a later book, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

  3. I’ve always had a hard time getting into this book, but about 1/3 to halfway through I just start flying and finish it all in one night. Definitely something special about it…

  4. There was a strange story about Jerry Garcia buying the rights to the novel and trying to make it into a film. I don’t know how anyone could have taken all the ideas in this book and boil them down to a 120-minute feature, but maybe after so many hits of acid, Jerry could envision it. Anyway, after he died, the rights got passed from one producer to another and there still isn’t a Sirens of Titan movie. Maybe it’s just as well. If memory serves correctly, the people who loved this book back when I was an undergrad were all stoners.

    (For the record, I wasn’t. A stoner or a fan of Sirens, I mean. It took a second reading when I was in my 30s to appreciate what Vonnegut was trying to do.)

Comments are closed.