The Wind Whales of Ishmael – NaBloPoMo 2010

it took me several attempts but eventually I read the entirety of Moby Dick. it is one of my favorite books and I’ve reread it several times since.

 

 

The Wind Whales of Ishmael by Philip Jose Farmer

 

 

how could I not like a *sequel* to Moby Dick, set ~one billion years in the future?  where there were no oceans but whales (flying whales, natch) abounded and a good whaleman was always in demand?

Philip Jose Farmer invented the mashup before there was a term for it.

3 thoughts on “The Wind Whales of Ishmael – NaBloPoMo 2010

  1. PJF is a polarizing writer. has about as many avid fans as fervent enemies.
    most of the charm of The Wind Whales of Ishmael is from the clever premise and from PJF’s attempts to write a la Melville in parts of the book.
    it is short, ~160 pb pages, so is not a huge time commitment.

Comments are closed.