Arizona congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords shot during a public event

update 20110108@14:47EST – there are now conflicting and updating reports about what happened.  one source has ms. Giffords gravely wounded and in surgery, as are other victims of the shooter.  I’ll be refreshing the NPR site frequently.

 

Arizona Congresswoman Shot By Gunman : NPR.

congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords

Giffords, who was re-elected to her third term in November, was hosting a “Congress on Your Corner” event at a Safeway in northwest Tucson when a gunman ran up and started shooting, according to Peter Michaels, news director of Arizona Public Media.

Giffords was talking to a couple when the suspect ran up and fired indiscriminately from about four feet away, (Idon’t consider running up to her and shooting as “indiscriminate”)Michaels said.

Six others are also believed killed; the gunman ran away and was tackled by bystanders – his identity has not been released

how bloody awful.   if memory serves, ms. Giffords is the first congress member to be murdered since Leo Ryan in Jonestown in 1978.

I wasn’t familiar with congresswoman Giffords until today: a cursory look around the internet locates several posts (most of whichare/will be removed soon) calling her “chicken” for not showing up at TeaBagger events/’debates’.    and with good reason, we now sadly find out.

our thoughts go out to her family and those of all others killed or wounded.

16 thoughts on “Arizona congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords shot during a public event

  1. NOTE: I have no control over what the WordPress bots consider “Possibly related posts”. please be aware that my post here, and my thinking have NOTHING in common with the linked posts:
    * BREAKING: Parts Of AZ S.B. 1070 Blocked
    * The shadow congressman from district 8
    * Gaby Giffords D-AZ finally has a townhall!!!

    which by the way I consider despicable. ’tis obvious by looking at them than congresswoman Giffords had a big target painted on her.

  2. that’s why I turned off “related posts” the first week we got here.

    apparently she’s alive, but the gunman was indiscriminate — a federal judge and a 9 year old girl are dead.

    there’s blood in the tea.

      • I don’t remember. It was in that first couple of days where I was blindly clicking around. Maybe it’s in the help docs?

      • http://en.support.wordpress.com/related-posts/

        Go to your Dashboard: under Appearances, click Extras, then check the box that says “Hide related links….”

        I got fed up with having WP linking my blog to some guy who supported Japanese whaling and whitewashed history textbooks that claim the Japanese invaded China during WWII for their own good. I never advocated any of that stuff, and I wasn’t going to let WP use my blog to link to this jerk.

  3. Horrific. I’m not familiar with her but it sounds as if she may have had threats againsther in the past…

  4. I’ve been following CNN, while my brother has Faux News on his TV. She’s out of surgery and in critical condition. A federal judge and a 9-year-old child died at the scene, sadly. Faux News’ news reader was speculating about a conspiracy and noted Gifford supported the “right” to own and carry a gun, including a concealed weapon for personal protection. She also scored 100 with NARAL for supporting a woman’s right to an abortion. But ascribing the shooting to politics might be too facile right now. The guy they arrested appears to be mentally ill.

  5. What a terrible terrible tragedy.
    It’s usually mental illness that causes these things, not “just” politics.
    My heart goes out to all the victims and their families.

  6. Giffords was one of the targets on Sarah Palin’s PAC site. There’s a gunsight on her district so she shows up in crosshairs. Nice, eh?

    I cried when I first heard this and I’m still upset and following the news. Her husband and parents were at the event and when they were headed to the hospital, someone asked her dad if she had any enemies.

    “Yeah, the entire Tea Party”.

    Now, I’m not ready to get all political here. Those are the words of a distraught father. I’m still hoping and praying for a recovery and my heart breaks over the lives lost, including a 9-year old girl.

    But I really really really want to call up and tell Palin she now has six graves to dance on and she’ll have to wait to dance on Gabby’s.

    That aside – the shooter is in custody and alive. Thank goodness for that because I want the truth to come out. Then justice can be served. It sounds like he’s a loon and government conspirist (oxymoron?). So maybe it’s just a case of another random whackjob going violent. But she’s had death threats already from the political freaks. To NOT make this political is a harder thing to to do than it should be.

    It’s a massive tragedy. I’m hoping this might knock some heads right side up and we can finally have some compassion in this state and in this country.

  7. What Amy said about knocking some sense into these foaming-at-the-mouth public types – from ANY side of the spectrum. I am so rattled by this I don’t even have words to put together. This is NOT okay.

    All those families who have lost someone and who are standing vigil in hospitals waiting and hoping… it’s just wrong.

  8. Per the New York Times, someone shot out the windows in her office earlier this year.

    I am scared for this country. It seems to me that things haven’t been as polarized since the mid-late 1960s, and… violent rhetoric is accepted now.

    We’ve taken some very wrong turns. I don’t want to get political either, but I do think gun laws in many states are far too lax; that it’s much too easy for people who intend harm to get their hands on weapons. (I am a former resident of VA, where the law was changed to 1 gun purchase per week per person back in the 90s. Weapons purchased in VA have been regularly used to arm gangs like the Bloods, Crips and many of their East and Southeast Asian counterparts, both in the US and Canada.)

    God. this reminds me much too much of the many assassinations that happened when I was growing up. Sometimes I think we’re still very much stuck in a frontier-style, shoot-’em-up culture. [shivers]

  9. Back when Mr. Obama got elected and this sort of rhetoric was really ratcheting up, didn’t we all say that something like this was bound to happen? It is NOT OK to be saying the things that Palin and Beck and Limbaugh say. You can disagree with someone’s politics but you cannot urge people into a hatefilled foaming rage and then go back and say “Oh, sorry” when this happens. :(

  10. Still trying to figure out how a shooter in a crowd doesn’t notice he’s pulling the trigger at a 9 year old girl. Three senior citizens were killed and they are barely even mentioned. 76,76, and 79. What a horrible way to have your life end. For each of them. I can’t even imagine how many news sources reported her dead.
    Guns don’t kill people. People use guns to kill people and because of guns they kill more people. I’d rather dodge a punch than a bullet any day.
    I am so amazed that she may come out of this okay. May. A bullet through the head for public service. What have we become.

Comments are closed.