movies to watch out for

Iron Chef? pikers
Top Chef? hackers

compared to Kings of Pastry, finally available via  Netflix.    this fine documentary didn’t make it anywhere close to these parts during its theatrical run.

but it is now on Netflix (both instant view and get-DVD-on-the-mail) and it is a very enjoyable watch. sixteen pastry chefs are  at the Meilleur Ouvrier de France competition, held every four years to determine who among them has the chops to wear the blue/white/red/ collar that marks one as  elite, or as each are referred to, a M.O.F. (my inner twelve-year-old inserted an “o” at the end, whenever I heard M.O.F.)

what took place were three days of patisserie competition at the highest levels of the craft. no stupid challenges, no eliminations, no personality clashes, no made-up drama: just men (all sixteen competitors were male) creating amazing confections and architectural marvels out of spun and blown sugar.

a beautiful movie.  the saddest part is at the end when you realize you have the most ridiculous craving for cream puffs and there isn’t a French patisserie in town.

7 thoughts on “movies to watch out for

  1. I saw the trailer for this before the King’s Speech, I didn’t realize it was on DVD already. The trailer was pretty amusing. I don’t know if I could handle the pastry craving throughout the whole thing, I suppose I’d have to get a batch of cream puffs or eclairs beforehand.

    • well, at least in my case, I didn’t recognize the craving for pastry until the movie was over. but yeah, may be a good ideas to have some eclairs on hand while watching.

  2. I had to look twice at that poster: D.A. Pennebaker made a documentary on pastry chefs? Rock concerts must be boring him now.

    We have a pretty decent patisserie out here, but the prices make me sigh. $50 for a little ol’ layer cake, cream puffs and eclairs are $6 each. I bought a Napoleon, which was divine, but I can’t afford to get addicted to the stuff. Otherwise I’d be robbing banks and gas stations for pastry money.

    • ah, Napoleons! mille..something, with all those layers. like crunchy air.
      I hear ya on the priciness, but what other options we have? I suppose we could try to become tasting judges at the M.O.F.s (unattainable dream)

  3. Instant view? AWESOME. I’ve been waiting to see this since I first heard about it–last summer, maybe? Thanks for letting me know!

    • you are welcome! I first learned about it from you, so it is the right thing to do.
      hope you like it and can afterwards expound loftily on all the important details my uneducated self missed

  4. YAY for Netflix! I’ve decided we need to watch a documentary every week. This is totally on the list now. :) Thanks, m!

Comments are closed.