A Letter to Scott Walker from a Wisconsin Teacher

the news media coverage of  Wisconsin has waned somewhat, but not the struggle – Gov. Walker refuses to negotiate, there are still protesters at Madison’ Capitol.

a letter to Gov. Walker from Wisconsin teacher Eric Brehm is making the rounds:  it explains the situation succinctly.  a good read

Would you please, kindly, explain exactly how collective bargaining is a fiscal issue? I fancy myself to be a fairly intelligent person. I have heard it reported in the news that unless the collective bargaining portion of this bill is passed, severe amounts of layoffs will occur in the state. I have heard that figure given as 6,000 jobs. But then again, you’ve reportedly said it was 10,000 jobs. But then again, it’s been reported to be as high as 12,000 jobs. Regardless of the figure, one thing that hasn’t been explained to my satisfaction is exactly how or why allowing a union to bargain collectively will cost so much money or so many jobs. Am I missing something? Isn’t collective bargaining essentially sitting in a room and discussing something, collectively? Is there now a price tag on conversation? How much does the average conversation cost? I feel your office has been eager to provide doomsday scenarios regarding lost jobs, but less than willing to provide actual insight as to why that is the case.

I would welcome an explanation.

so would all of Wisconsin. so would the country. so would I.

via

3 thoughts on “A Letter to Scott Walker from a Wisconsin Teacher

  1. The state employees union is filing an unfair practices complaint against Walker with the Labor Relations Board, but they lost their teeth back during Reagan’s day. What’s interesting however is that the fight has spread to Ohio where its governor is trying to do the same thing.

    http://www.truthdig.com/eartotheground/item/first_wisconsin_now_ohio_20110301/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Truthdig%2FEarToTheGround+Truthdig+|+Ear+to+the+Ground

    (Sorry for the long link, I need to learn how to place them within the text. But here’s hoping now my comment doesn’t end up in your Spam drawer.)

    Marx said American labor unions would never create a revolution because they would always sell out for higher wages: but I think when our backs are against the wall, heads are gonna roll.

  2. What scares me is that Walker and his supporters refuse to listen to reason. Their strategy is to tell blatant lies ceaselessly until everyone believes them. I am really hoping that the people of this state see through this. A lot of people are doing inspiring, courageous things, and I really don’t want to give up hope. I love how some Democratic legislators set up their desks outside the Capitol in freezing temps because the public was (probably illegally) barred from entering the Capitol.

    Thanks to Walker, our town is likely going to lose its public transit system AND its recycling program. I guess I chose a bad time to move back to WI.

Comments are closed.