Guv. Perry issues a Pray for Rain Proclamation

…under the authority vested in me by the Constitution and Statutes of the State of Texas, do hereby proclaim the three-day period from Friday, April 22, 2011, to Sunday, April 24, 2011, as Days of Prayer for Rain in the State of Texas. I urge Texans of all faiths and traditions to offer prayers on that day for the healing of our land,

via Rain Proclamation.

right. screw all that “separation of church and state” nonsense in the U.S. Constitution. I reckon the Texas Constitution and Statutes don’t include that bit.

25 thoughts on “Guv. Perry issues a Pray for Rain Proclamation

  1. Ha. Silliness.

    My mom finally (after about five years of me avoiding church completely) asked me why I wasn’t coming to their Easter services.
    I said “Because church is annoying.” and left it at that.

    Another *eyeroll* for the governor’s Pray for Rain day. I hope to see a few Texans out dancing, too!

      • that’d be heathen. (less’n it was the Cotton Eyed Joe)

        I’d avoid church if I’d be through Lauri’s romance novel Mary and salted Jesus experience. it’s enough to put anyone off religion entirely.

  2. I’m doing my part! I’ve applied several layers of hair lacquer (it works just like tin foil) and I’ve got a goat ready for the sacrifice.

  3. so if it doesn’t rain, we can blame them for not praying hard enough.

    they should assign different days and times for different religions/sects to pray. Baptists one shift, Catholics the next, Jews, Muslims, Wiccans…

    • well, I think when Guv. Ricky speaks of “Texans of all faiths and traditions”, he’s referring to the two official religions of his state: baptists and southern baptists.

      • “Babdists” is the correct spelling down there.

        suthrn-babdists is whut he rully wants, but maybe there’s a Jew around that reminded him. or he saw a black babdist choir.

        but none of them cathlicks (they’s Messican!) and ‘specially none of them Mooslims or the rest of the heathens.

    • But, it’s going to rain sometime…so whenever it does they will say “Look…our prayers are answered! Hallelujah!”

    • Hoo boy, can you just imagine if Wiccans and Pagans showed up in Perry’s office to pray for rain for Texas? His head would explode.

  4. btw, Ricky, most of us call that Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter… we already had a perfectly good name for the whole week beforehand.

    • Be careful what you wish for.

      Thank God (har) I live in California. Either it rains or it doesn’t rain, and the governor’s involvement in it is telling us whether or not we’ll have water rationing that summer.

      Back in the olden olden days, they’d sacrifice the head man of the tribe when the weather was going bad. Let’s revive that and save the goat.

Comments are closed.