’til next year CSA!

[waves goodbye]

today I picked up our last CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) for the year.  not like our most favored California brethren, whose growing season spans all year, here in the Bluegrass we have now to wait until April for our locally grown harvest.

the last of the locally-grown veggies

the last of the locally-grown veggies

butternut and spaghetti squashes,  sweet potatoes, green peppers, kale, garlic, tomatoes (!this late), rosemary and sage.

been a bit of a strange growing season – too much rain at the beginning, too hot in July-August… this is my 6th year participating in the CSA and I’ve learned that every season has their own challenges and problems, but it is nice to experience how the local weather affects the local harvest.

12 thoughts on “’til next year CSA!

  1. those veggies look super yummy, especially the kale. CSA is a great thing. Maybe I’ll join in a year or two, but you have to be able to figure out stuff to do with all the veggies. I’m afraid I would be overwhelmed.

    • oh, I hope you can join one at one point, littlem. same-day picked veggies are nothing like those from a supermarket.
      our CSA has three different baskets – mini, regular, and super, based on family sizes/needs. they also allow for two or more families to share.

      • I love going to the farmer’s market, but I guess I would still have occasion to visit it even with CSA. There are several options in the area that I should look into for next year. One day I’d like my own garden but I’m afraid that day a long way off.

  2. The first year we belonged to a CSA, I was overwhelmed by beets, cucumbers, snow peas, tomatoes, and kale. Sweet corn we couldn’t get enough of, it was sooo tender and yummy. But I learned how to can and freeze everything then. The next year I shared my box with some of the neighbors, including people who claimed there was no difference between grocery store produce and farm-picked veggies. I converted most of them over the summer, though of course there was the moocher who would call every week and ask if I had any leftover cucumbers or tomatoes. (I didn’t mind, but she was the one who thought organic farming was “bullshit.”)

    At the end of the growing year in October—this was in Minnesota, where the first frost typically occurred just before Halloween—we’d have a big community harvest festival. The owners of the CSA were Quakers, so we had a thanksgiving circle before dinner. One year the farm’s cats came out and headbutted our dog during the circle. Josie headbutted the cats back. Everyone “aww’d.” It seemed to sum up what thanksgiving was all about, more so than turkey or sitting at table with the in-laws.

  3. CSA is way better than doing it on your own ;p

    Just saying…for a ranch girl, I’m LAZY (not really lazy but I HATE gardening!!).

    • growing my own usually ends up in a rather skewed ratio – >>>>> work for << veges.
      may be economies of scale, or that KY soil does not hold a candle to Lauri‘s fertile Michigan soil.

  4. Pingback: What’s In Your CSA? Autumn Share, Week 2 | Family Foodie Survival Guide

Comments are closed.