Vegan MoFo – Tempeh stir-fry

we have some version of this for dinner at least once a week.

tonight is a stir-fry of tempeh with carrots, swiss chard, green peppers, and onion

 

good foods

carrots are for bunrabs

 

first, prep veggies – slice carrots in coins, chop onion, cut pepper in strips, shred swiss chard.   cut the tempeh in ~one-inch cubes

heat up ~ one tbsp of canola or whatever-you-have oil on a wok at medium heat

add carrots, and fry for 2-3 minutes while stirring

add ½-cup of water to wok and steam the carrots for five minutes or so

(add more oil if needed)

add tempeh cubes, fry for a few minutes

add onion and pepper

add swiss chard

add about enough soy sauce (I just shake the bottle a few times – if I had to guess, ~ one tbsp of soy sauce)

should look something like this

serve over a grain, or over pasta.  here, over brown rice.

viva la rabbit food!

Vegan Month of Food 2011

15 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo – Tempeh stir-fry

  1. That looks lovely. I’ll have to try it soon since chard is my new favorite ingredient. Why in the world don’t I have a wok yet?!

    • chard is tasty and nutritious. what’s not to like?

      woks are great but can take a lot of storage space. mine hangs on the wall

    • hi Robbie,

      my bad. Tempeh is a fermented soy product. a bit more taste and texture than tofu. it is, you could say, a kind of soy cheese. I like it a lot

    • the wok is indeed well-used. I hope it thinks is well-loved.
      I’ve had it for ~ 15 years. it is carbon steel, I think.

  2. Pingback: Healthy Cooking

Comments are closed.