Vegan MoFo – kale and garlic soup

so, I have a handful of kale in the fridge, a few heads of garlic… and I would have sworn I’ve read a recipe for “kale and garlic soup” in the vegan mofo google reader feed. cool.

but now I cant’ find it. so for the next best thing I searched for vegan kale garlic soup, got pages and pages of recipes, skim-read a few, and made soup with the stuff I have at home.

here’s the kinda-of-recipe:

you’ll need these

aiiieeee! we gonna drown!

chop the onion and mince the garlic

heat up 1-2 tbsp. of olive oil (or whatever oil you have on hand) in a large saucepan.  add onions and garlic.  cook at medium heat for ~ five minutes, stirring every once in a while.

chop celery (save the leaves), carrot, sweet potato – add to pan.  stir

cook for 8-10 minutes, until the sweet potatoes can be pierced with a fork.   bring to high heat, add six cups of water, bring to a boil.  lower the heat to a simmer,  cook for another 8-10 minutes.

shred the kale, discard the ribs.   chop the celery leaves

(save the kale ribs and trimmings for the bunny who lives in the backyard)

add greens to the pan, cook for 3-5 minutes.  add salt and pepper to taste.    serve

Stevie disapproves of vegan soup

glaringks

8 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo – kale and garlic soup

  1. I’m afraid I’m with Stevie Eliz — I was thinking it sounded good if it had a chicken broth base.

    but I like your cooking style. we have things. we throw them in a pot till they’re done. it’s fud.

    • feel free to substitute chicken or veggie stock. I use water ‘cos I never have any kind of stock around.

      Steven E. congratulates you on your discerning taste.

  2. yummy! I love kale but I have never used it in a soup. I also usually use water for the base. When I use veggie stock, then the soup always tastes the same.

    I want to beep Steven E’s nose.

    • Veggie stock is so heavy on the tomato that everything tastes like that. I think it would overwhelm the more delicate flavors of the sweet potato and celery. Which is why I would go with chicken rather than beef stock, beef is also too strong.

      In this case, I might go half chicken broth, half water.

      it’s still warm here but soon it will be time for another round of my semi-famous multi-bean soup which as we know can be beefy or veggie.

Comments are closed.